Arthur Britannicus (Forgotten Empire Book 1)

by Paul Bannister

Published Mar 12, 2018 by Sharpe Books (March 12, 2018)

Price: $3.99

(Price last checked: 04/10/2020, 4:49 PM)

3.8 out of 5 on Amazon with 123 ratings

Carausius is born into a savage life.

His father was a respected warrior chief, a leader of men.

But as a boy, Carausius witnesses his violent death.

As the boy grows into a man and then a soldier, he dedicates himself to the cause of Rome.

As a centurion in the Empire's mighty Army, he earns the respect of his men: soldiers who will fight, and die if necessary, at his command.

But, just like his father before him, he is surrounded by enemies - both within and without.

He must manoeuvre his way through battle, knowing who to trust and who to put to death; not easy when paranoia among the ruling elite is so rife.

Will Carausius emerge victorious where so many before him failed and earn the great title of all.

Or will he meet an early, violent death, as his father did before him.

'Arthur Britannicus' is a vivid and memorable portrayal of the life of a Roman champion.

It is perfect for fans of Ben Kane and Simon Scarrow.

Praise for Paul Bannister


'A thrilling story which weaves together both history and legend.' - Richard Foreman, best-selling author of the Swords of Rome series

'A fantastic insight into Roman life.' - Tom Kasey, best-selling author of The Dante Conspiracy

Paul Bannister is a journalist and author.

Editorial Reviews


Some recent BookSniffer blog posts…

There’s no such thing as “too many books”

Have you heard of the Japanese word tsundoku? tsundoku — (n.) the act of leaving a book unread after buying it, typically piling it up together with other such unread books. As most book lovers can attest, tsundoku is a common occurrence. A book by an author we like,...

BookSniffer.com is an Amazon Associate. We earn a commission on qualified purchases. Thanks for sniffing some books with us!

The BookSniffer name and logos are trademarks of BookSniffer, Inc. Patents Pending.